SCHOOL REFUSED CHILD MEDICATION


SCHOOL REFUSED CHILD MEDICATION

Often, I get inspired by the news cast. Today the news was about a child who was not allowed to take the prescribed medication at school. This kind of news makes me see red. Who are those teachers anyway that they can decide on the life and illness of a student with special medical need, contrary to a physician’s recommendations?

That is almost as bad as an employer who, against a doctor’s recommendations and in spite of the proper form that says this employee is ill and is not able to work, expects employees to come to work anyway!
How cruel and unjustified of the school. What could be behind this insensitivity? Hold a minute! I heard in the next sentence that the medication of the student was physician prescribed marijuana.

Alright then. Maybe this student has cancer and no appetite, and because she is able to walk and talk well enough, and for reasons of not becoming socially isolated, she is allowed to be at school. So what about it?

Maybe the boy has anxiety disorder and just maybe the extra strong BC Bud knocks him out long enough that he is able to be his classroom, instead of running out, even of he does not get too much learning out of it. At least he is with his classmates. We would not want him to be socially ostracized and isolated now, in addition to being anxious, do we?

Another case might involve a girl with glaucoma, another good reason for taking medication that decreases the pressure in the eye and prevents worse, blindness.Traditional medications might not work for this child, because she is allergic.

You see that I am switching gender here, as I don’t want to appear prejudiced or gender-biased, god forbid.

The news flash got my imagination going, and my memory as well. It seemed like yesterday that I met with the vice-principal of my daughter’s high school to discuss the use of marijuana that she was taking for personal problems.

Yes, it was self-prescribed, minor detail, but who knows better than the person taking it whether it helps or not for what ails you? She was just ahead of her time; doctors did not prescribe it them.
Personal problems? Yes, you see, my marriage was falling apart at the time and my daughter was stuck between two warring parents. She had good reason for self medication. Not that she wasn’t as well a rebellious adolescent….

So, how did that discussion go, you wonder? Not very well. That is to say, not very well for me and not at all, as you would expect.

My position was that the school is no place for a student that is out of it, stoned out of her head, and that it would be doubtful that she would get much out of the materials offered, or could be serious, or objective and rational in class discussions. I felt sorry for the teacher as well. I would not be surprised if the VP would suspend her, at least for the day. That might make her think and would make her more careful, more sensible and more serious about graduation.

My daughter’s position was simply that she had not used any marijuana and that her mother was (still) out to lunch.

The VP’s position: he had no evidence for my assertions that less than an hour ago, she showed all the signs and smell of recently smoking up, probably with some friends, when I picked her up for lunch.
“What can I say, it is just your word against your daughter’s. It is not clear who is telling the truth and what is really going on. The consequences would be quite serious for your daughter, if I took your word for it. We treat our students fairly. We have a zero-policy for drug use at school. She is no trouble at school and I will give her the benefit of the doubt.”

The evidence:
Contrary to an hour earlier, when I picked her up for lunch, at that moment in the office of the VP, her eyes were clear and not bloodshot, she smelled nice and of perfume, not of the skunky smell that hung around her earlier. I was obviously an out-of-control mother, a real problem.

So how would that situation unfold if that were today?

“Say, Tina, why is your head on the desk? Are you asleep? Did you go to bed late last night?”

“No mister Clark, I have just taken my medication and need a few moments, I will be alright in a half our or so. How beautiful those birds sing, and what about that sunlight, it looks like gold, do you see that?”

“No, I don’t, but that’s alright. You take your time, you can join us when you are ready. Feel free to take a fruit bar from the bowl, if you get hungry. And my apologies, didn’t mean to put you on the spot. If it doesn’t get better, and you need to go home, just let me know, and the receptionist can call your mom to come and get you.”

About BABYBOOMER johanna van zanten

My name is Johanna van Zanten. I am a baby boomer, interested in writing and connecting with other writers and readers to engage in discussions and information sharing, to share a point of view about current global issues, writing, and publishing, diversity, immigration, travel, music, life, specific baby boomer issues, and dating/relationship issues. I have written a novella, ON THIN ICE about baby-boomer Adrienne and will link this blog with the information website for this novella. Right now, I am trying out the blog.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to SCHOOL REFUSED CHILD MEDICATION

  1. Is it not great.. how a “trigger” pulls it out? Note that I only read your version and your unfolding story. I’m guessing it’s more accurate than the news–

    • Thanks for your comment. I am not sure how the response would be if MJ treatment was extended to children and included the school. My version was from ten years ago and my daughter admitted later that she had indeed smoked up. We are all good, now that she is an adult and moved on with her life. She actually is enrolled now in Condordia University courses.

  2. betternotbroken says:

    I am in the minority, or not, who knows, but I am not thrilled that MJ is turned into a medicine. That being said, would I deprive a terminally bound cancer patient of that as a legal pain killer? Nope. It is a dangerous precedent to set, that a non medically trained or licensed professional and a person who does not have legal guardianship of a child, makes decisions that counter the law, the wishes of the parents and the advice of doctors. Maybe you don’t need a prescription to get medical MJ, even so, I wouldn’t be so quick to tell others what to do if I were the school officials and no other “crime” or offense had taken place. I also, as a parent would be FURIOUS if someone was bringing their medicine and sharing it with the rest of the class. Perhaps if it is medicine, it should stay in the nurses’s office and be backed with a prescription or wait until you go home to take it. Thought provoking post.

    • Thanks so much for your comment. In BC one needs a prescription from a medical preofessional to get medical MJ, although a naturopathic doctor, a health nurse, or other health care related professional can prescribe it too. Especially in Vancouver it is freely available and the requirement of a prescription is almost a farce, but this is only for adults. I have not heard yet about children, this news flash was the first instance. BC health care considers children over 12 competent, unless they have a cognitive disability or other reasons not to be competent for making health care decisions. Then there is also the child’s guardian who weighs in.

Leave a Reply

