COVER for On Thin Ice


Hi Friends and Readers

This is a post about my novel. I have asked friends in the Netherlands to send me a photo that I could use for the cover of my novel, a collection of interrelated short stories with the title ON THIN ICE. As they recently had a cold snap long enough for the canals to form ice to skate on, I got lucky and here are some photos that I think are very suitable.  This is maybe a one in ten year event, so the universe is obliging. Thanks friends!

I would love it if you were willing to share your thoughts about what would be your choice for a cover, by adding your comments below.

You can find more information about the novel ON THIN ICE, what I think might be the readers and what the  short stories are about  at http://www.babyboomerwites.com. The stories start in Amsterdam, and the main protagonist as well as other characters were raised in the Netherlands. About a third into the book, the location then switches to Canada, the reason for a photo of Amsterdam. What do you think?

I have written to 3 agents and 19 Canadian publishers without results, although I am waiting for replies from a few (7)  yet.  I plan to continue now with publishers in the US, although the placing of the novel outside of the US might be a barrier to acceptance, but we’ll see. Advice from other authors is to not give up and just continue writing. I am half-way into the first draft of my next book.

Anyway, I am ready to launch my first book when it comes back from the editor’s last inspection. I have decided to first start with a self-published ebook, and see how it goes from there. My selection of e-publisher will be BookBaby that  also can deliver small quantities in print, if so desired. I just might do so, if there is any interest for printed copies. They charge a decent fee and all rights stay in my hands.

I would very much welcome any feedback about preference for a printed copy or an ebook  copy,  if you were going to buy my book.

I would also really appreciate any feedback and any other ideas you might have about  the cover photos posted below, as I can use all the help I can get.

One more favour to ask: when you are on my FACEBOOK page for ON THIN ICE,  I would very much appreciate it if you would click on the “like” icon, to help with recognition of the site.

Thanks so much.

About BABYBOOMER johanna van zanten

My name is Johanna van Zanten. I am a baby boomer, interested in writing and connecting with other writers and readers to engage in discussions and information sharing, to share a point of view about current global issues, writing, and publishing, diversity, immigration, travel, music, life, specific baby boomer issues, and dating/relationship issues. I have written a novella, ON THIN ICE about baby-boomer Adrienne and will link this blog with the information website for this novella. Right now, I am trying out the blog.
This entry was posted in Agents, Author circles, Babyboomer, Creative fiction, Dealing with aging and dating, EU, Immigration, memoir writing, Publishing, Short story, the Netherlands, Uncategorized, Writing life. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to COVER for On Thin Ice

  1. Malou says:

    Wishing you all the best on your book launch, Johanna. Indeed the advice to not give up and continue on writing is something I heard from successful authors like Nicholas Sparks. 😉

Leave a Reply

