New Year, 2011


A brand spanking new year, for those using the Gregorian calendar it will be the year 2011, the winter in which the lunar eclipse coincided with the solstice, a roughly one-in-400-year event. As well, the polar ice cap is melted so much that the ice cover of the Hudson Bay is more than a month late, polar bears pacing at Churchill’s shores, more hungry than they ever have been before.

Travelling was exceptionally difficult and this seemed to almost globally have been so, due to weather conditions. Many would attribute these flukes of nature to divine intervention and some even anticipate “the end of the world” soon.

I say it’s a reminder that we as humans are very smart and can invent all types of advancement in technology and do fairly well, but that ultimately, nature rules!

I am enjoying hanging out for most of the day on the couch in my PJs, watching a whole season of 30Rock in one sitting with a cup of real coffee and the cat stretched out beside me. I say, thank god for winter and the legitimate wish to slow down and charge my batteries, all by myself, without hesitation and without regret, after a quiet evening the night before. Wonderful!

The new year will be, hopefully, for many a starting point for reducing greenhouse gases by walking more, buying less, taking the public transit and bicycle more often and decrease destructive and thoughtless ways of living and working, showing more respect for mother earth and all of her inhabitants.

I anticipate an increase in wisdom and enjoyment in my life because of it–the other side of getting older–more expression of love in relationships, less living in the fast lane, leaving that to the younger generation who deserves a chance at mastering industry. Not that no wise young people exist, au contraire, just read the lyrics of Take A Minute by the Canadian, Somalian born artist K’Naan.

I encourage you to respond to my thoughts and will reply.

About BABYBOOMER johanna van zanten

My name is Johanna van Zanten. I am a baby boomer, interested in writing and connecting with other writers and readers to engage in discussions and information sharing, to share a point of view about current global issues, writing, and publishing, diversity, immigration, travel, music, life, specific baby boomer issues, and dating/relationship issues. I have written a novella, ON THIN ICE about baby-boomer Adrienne and will link this blog with the information website for this novella. Right now, I am trying out the blog.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to New Year, 2011

  1. Lisa says:

    Happy new year my friend! So glad contentment has found you, it just landed on your shoulder, whilst you were not expecting! I have followed your encouragement and blogged onto word press as justliloldme…just lil old me, so thank you Boomer. Best to the new year, pack some wine for your journey and hopefully nature will inspire words to flow. When you return perhaps a game of mah Jong is due. Carpe diem.

Leave a Reply

