Live for today


A very generous friend suddenly had a disastrous turn of events in her life. Her husband, in his fifties, caught a flue like bug and felt ill for a few days. After a week he was not getting any better and even felt much worse. She took him to the emergency and he was examined. This is his story:

In late September 2010, I picked up what appeared to be a bad case of influenza.  It progressively got worse and I was unable to shake it. On Sunday evening, October 3, as my conditioned worsened, my wife Gretchen decided to take me into the ER.

The ER diagnosed my condition as a pneumonia and gave me a course of antibiotics.

The antibiotics helped slightly, but did not cure the pneumonia.  I was functioning, but with reduced energy, and still exhibiting symptoms such as congestion, gravelly voice, and loss of appetite.

I went to an internist recommended by a family friend who is also a radiologist.  She examined me, and ended up with results that concerned her greatly.  She broke off the examination and insisted I head to the ER directly from her office.

I did, and there, after numerous tests including a lengthy catheterization and an echocardiogram, discovered that the apparent pneumonia was actually a comparatively rare hereditary heart disease indigenous to east India (where my paternal family is from) and I was at serious risk for an imminent fatal heart attack.

Large parts of my heart had already died.  The left ventricle was outputting about 15% efficiency and a large blood clot was observed near the apex.  The aortas exhibited advanced artheriosclerosis, were barely functional, and were not repairable.

Despite this, I had no heart disease symptoms, such as chest compression. radiating pain to the left arm, etc.   This apparently is another characteristic of the rapid onset of the hereditary disease.

I was stabilized at Naples Community Hospital and transferred by ambulance to Tampa General.  I am still at Tampa General while they further stabilize me and determine the best course of treatment.

I am comfortable and believe I am receiving the best possible care from concerned and committed professionals.

His story can be followed on: http://www.Caringbridge.org/visit/tonichaudhuri.

About BABYBOOMER johanna van zanten

My name is Johanna van Zanten. I am a baby boomer, interested in writing and connecting with other writers and readers to engage in discussions and information sharing, to share a point of view about current global issues, writing, and publishing, diversity, immigration, travel, music, life, specific baby boomer issues, and dating/relationship issues. I have written a novella, ON THIN ICE about baby-boomer Adrienne and will link this blog with the information website for this novella. Right now, I am trying out the blog.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

