An Accident part 3


Continued from yesterday.

AN ACCIDENT

Continued from yesterday.

 

At the group home, they continued where they left off.

“ You know, I did some jobs for some biker guys, nothing serious, but they paid me in crack cocaine. When I got caught, I was heavy into it. That was good shit, man; I liked it. I liked it a lot!”

“Don’t you ever want some other things, like an education, or a job that makes you some money the right way, so you won’t be caught and put in jail again?”

“Sure I want that, but think it’s too late for me anyway. Can’t get used to that life. I like my freedom. You sound like a social worker.”

“You sound like an old man. How old are you anyway?”

“ You know I am 13. Lay off man. It’s not my fault that I have a crazy mother, no dad, and an a-hole for a step dad.”

“Well, we’ll get you back into the Storefront school and get you at least an education—you are a smart guy, you’ll do well. You can be whatever you want to be. You know that, don’t you?”

“Sure, Darren.”

======

“ What the fuck, you again! Stay th’ hell away from me! What you want now?” Luke yelled when he saw Darren pull up to the curb. It looked like Luke was doing a deal; Darren saw money exchange hands. He was faintly aware of the late hour—he had just come off the late shift and had been hanging back with one of the boys who had insomnia; he was tired now. He knew this wasn’t the best part of town. Quite a few partygoers were roaming about trying to get into more trouble.

Luke was talking to what he thought looked like two tourists, two beefy guys with much leather on them. Darren got out of the van with the intent to get into the customers’ face. He had his cell phone ready at the speed dial.

“You are dealing with a minor here. I suggest you guys move on, or I am calling the cops.”

“Darren, I’m telling ya, get-outa here! I’m not kidding! “

“What are you doing, Luke? You’ll be put away again when the cops catch you”.

“Who’re you, an’ what’s it t’ya anyway? You’re nothing t’me. These guys helping me out and I’m doing ‘em a favour, so lay off, shut up, fuck off, or what ever.”

All of a sudden, Darren felt a wave of panic. His knees buckled, intense illness rose in his stomach, his ears started buzzing. Then everything went dark.

 

To be continued tomorrow

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

About BABYBOOMER johanna van zanten

My name is Johanna van Zanten. I am a baby boomer, interested in writing and connecting with other writers and readers to engage in discussions and information sharing, to share a point of view about current global issues, writing, and publishing, diversity, immigration, travel, music, life, specific baby boomer issues, and dating/relationship issues. I have written a novella, ON THIN ICE about baby-boomer Adrienne and will link this blog with the information website for this novella. Right now, I am trying out the blog.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

