SUPER MOON


SUPER MOON

Last weekend a so-called SUPER MOON appeared in the night sky. The moon was closer to our planet than at any other time in the year; it is also called a Perigee moon. The moon appeared to be more visible, because it was a full moon and we had clear skies.

Those that believe in the super-natural powers of the constellations might allocate meaning to this phenomenon in the universe. A photo below shows the super moon over a mosque at the Univesity of Tampa, Fla. on Sunday June 23, 2013 (Photo courtesy AP Photos/Chris O”Meara on the website on Huffington Post of the Super Moon slide show. Other photos of the Perigee moon can be viewed as well on the website.

http://www.huffingtonpost.com/2013/06/23/supermoon-2013-photos-biggest-full-moon-slideshow_n_3487882.html?utm_hp_ref=mostpopular#slide=2606072

According to a website that teaches about astrology, the cycles of the moon relate to the seasons in nature (and by extension also on a personal level to your productive life) and its meaning for growth: from the winter solstice (beginnings) through spring equinox (growth) to the summer solstice which means clarity and on to the fall equinox: decline.

“In the full moon phase, the Moon and Sun are in opposition to each other on opposite sides of the Earth. This corresponds to the time in the planting cycle for the flower to emerge. This phase symbolically relates to the Summer Solstice, the time of maximum light in the cycle of the seasons.
During this phase, you are very aware of the effect of your work on others. You are operating out of a mode of visible clarity rather than blind faith, and your watchword is objectivity. You are open to the influence of those around you, and are aware of the influence that you can have on them as well. In this sense, your work has meaning for you only in combination with other people.”

So how did the SUPER MOON affect your weekend? Did you find any evidence that the symbolism and meaning might have been at work for you? Do you believe that the constellations have any effect on you?

For me, although I do not believe in constellations’ effect on people, this weekend was an accumulation of strange events and I am tempted to find explanations beyond simply coincidence. Suffice it to say that it seemed indeed more intense and that friends (and strangers) appealed to my skills, and my support, and my objectivity in some way or another.

On FRIDAY I missed an appointment, due to the fact that we were mistaken with an hour difference about the time we were supposed to meet. I was more than forty-five minutes early and waited at our meeting point, relaxing and having a coffee at Starbucks with my friend. I wondered where my appointment was and why she did not call me on my cell phone; my appointment was doing the same about me.
I called her after returning home. She said the appointment was an hour earlier; she would call me back to reschedule when she was finished what she was doing. She never called me back, so I called her again. By that time she was annoyed that I had not responded to her phone messages. I had not received any messages. I was baffled.
It would not have been a problem, had my phone worked. Eventually we did notice that my phone must have not been working after my friend decided to use her phone to call me to test: my phone did not ring. I could call out, but incoming calls did not get through. We rescheduled the appointment for a bit later that same evening and found out then that our paths had crossed earlier that afternoon, with at the most only five minutes difference: she had waited for a while and we were 40 minutes early. I guess the stars did not align and the new iPhone did not do its job. We do need more than technology to get lucky.
Later that day, I spent the good part of Friday evening in the hospital emergency with an ill friend from around 9 PM till the early morning of Saturday. I noticed the extra large full moon while driving home at 1 AM.

My SATURDAY was taken by texting with another friend with troubles of her own of a financial and romantic nature, after strange and unusual events that happened to her the night before. My objectivity was a factor and I needed all my strength to balance emotions of empathy with rational thinking.
On SUNDAY I was walking with a friend along the lakeside beach boulevard in a neighbouring town, enjoying the beautiful weather, like so many walkers and sunbathers after a week of rain and cloudy, cool days. Neither of us carried a purse or a phone: we focused on just enjoying ourselves as it was our day off.

Fifty yards away in front of us two boys of about 10 were skateboarding; one of them fell hard and did not get up. My friend said: ”Oh, oh, he is hurt.” We casually strolled up to the boys while the injured boy came to a sitting position, holding his left arm with his right hand.
My friend is a nurse who changed careers midlife to become a social worker. She checked the boy’s arm visually, all the while talking to him and engaging him in a conversation, so he would not pass out. His arm was visibly broken and his face was ashen-white. He said his name was Jared. He wore no protective gear; neither did his friend.

Jared’s friend said he had a cell phone and we asked him to call Jared’s mom, who was somewhere in a house a few streets away. When she came on the phone, my friend took over the phone from the boy and explained to the mother that her son had been injured and could she please come immediately to the beach area. The mother replied she would come right away and instructed my friend not to call an ambulance, repeating that a few times. We waited, but nobody showed up for at least twenty minutes.
In the meantime, another walker, a man who had seen the incident, came to assist and talked about maybe calling an ambulance, as the boy was in poor condition and his arm visibly broken just below the elbow. He turned out to be a first responder. We passed the mother’s instruction not to call an ambulance to him.

A young woman also stopped and offered to help. She said she was a first year nursing student. She tended to Jared, wiped his sweaty face with water and tried to keep his posture upright, so his arm would not get any pressure. She did not have a cell phone either on her. She later commented that all her training went out the window when she arrived on the scene. Small comfort was that neither of us had any equipment on us, so what one can do in that case, is indeed very little.

Another young woman with a baby asleep in a stroller stopped. She told us her dad who was sitting on the beach further down the road was a doctor; she had no phone and her dad neither. She offered to run up there and get him. We agreed to look after her sleeping baby, assuring her we are social workers and safe to look after her baby. Then she ran down the path to get her dad.

By now Jared had a really hard time coping and was giving indicators he might go into shock soon and would be passing out, if we could not get him out of the sun and addressing his pain soon. While I was pushing the baby stroller stationary back and forth to keep the baby sleeping, I looked up and saw an ambulance further down the road driving at a leisurely pace (speed restriction on the boulevard was 30 KM), heading our way.
I left the baby and stepped into the road with my hand up to stop the ambulance. The driver stopped. I asked whether they were having someone in the back already. No they hadn’t. I said: “We have a boy here with a broken arm. Would you have a look please?” “No problem, “ the driver said and pulled over his vehicle.

The paramedics got out and checked the boy. My friend told them we had spoken to the boy’s mother by phone, and heard that she would be on her way, giving us the instruction not to call an ambulance. The driver responded without seeming surprised: “No, that’s fine, you didn’t call us.” She then stepped back and let the men do their job.

We turned to Jared’s little friend, asking if he would be OK if we left. He said he would, that he lived in the city nearby, but was staying with Jared and his mom would take him home.

At that time, the mother of the still sleeping baby arrived as well, overheated and beet-red from running. She was barefoot, as she had worn flip-flops and could not run in those. She said she had asked her dad to come and he was on his way.

It’s Murphy’s law at work: as soon as the paramedics busied themselves with Jared and I saw one of them preparing a syringe with a painkiller, Jared’s mother screeched up to the curb in a vehicle on the wrong side of the street. The first thing she called out on leaving her car was: “I will take him in, we don’t need an ambulance.” My friend and I looked at each other in surprise. Would that be the first thing out of our mouth if our son were injured? We left the mother to the paramedics and left the scene to continue our walk.

Later that evening we heard from a senior, familiar with calling an ambulance for his illness, that the costs of a one way call-out for an ambulance is $80 and that the Medical Services Plan BC does not cover that. We should give Jared’s mother the benefit of the doubt. I guess she was on a limited budget and had been already aware of this costs.
We were also assured that ambulance staff is allowed to attend any accident, provide first aid and administer the medication that is needed at no costs. As we knew Jared would not be in pain much after his shot from the paramedics, we felt much better.

Anyway, this summer solstice weekend was no ordinary weekend in my life. How about yours? Any strangeness happened in your life?
I would love your comment below, a rating at the top of the page…or a “Like” on Facebook, or a tweet with the link http://www.babyboomerwrites.wordpress.com/SuperMoon/

About BABYBOOMER johanna van zanten

My name is Johanna van Zanten. I am a baby boomer, interested in writing and connecting with other writers and readers to engage in discussions and information sharing, to share a point of view about current global issues, writing, and publishing, diversity, immigration, travel, music, life, specific baby boomer issues, and dating/relationship issues. I have written a novella, ON THIN ICE about baby-boomer Adrienne and will link this blog with the information website for this novella. Right now, I am trying out the blog.
This entry was posted in adolescents, Kelowna event, latest news items, Parenting, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to SUPER MOON

  1. What a strange day. I was thinking the same thing about the ambulance, that it was the cost that was the problem. Still, you’d think she would have come a bit faster. THe moon is amazing!

  2. ps you can put a twitter button on your wordpress page, it’s usually under Widgets :)

Leave a Reply

